Boxed Inside


The sea is washed ashore.

Exhibition | Art installation | 2008 | world wide

Boxed Inside is about content. A content that is always visible but seems hidden.  Its meaning is determind by ist context. For one there ist he ideational content which is abstrakt and defines the essence of an object or space. The largest space of our world is the ocean, which changeable nature has always fascinated people. But its essence stays hidden from us.

The phyiscal content can be presicely defined. It was standardised by modern commerce. As a container it conquered the world  and changed it like no other invention of the 21. Century. For the citizen of the great harbour cities of the world it became a daily sight.

What is inside all those countless containers?

What happenes to the ships and their cargo when they vanish behind the horizon?

They journey of the container never ends, not once during the year. It´s a journey across the globe through the strange world of the vast ocean. It demands a heavy price. Each year over 10 000 container. Occasionally they get washed ashore as flotsam and reveal their content. Just like the five unique containers of Boxed Inside. They carry the sea to the shores of the great harbour cities.

Curious beachcombers can explore their content and discover the oceans vastness, its great depth, its recurring waves and powerful storms.


CREATED| concept, planning, modell making, graphics, webdesing, communiction,

LEARNED| Making abstract concepts come alive.

LOVED| Making a hidden wold visible

ICELAND

ICELAND

SINGAPORE

SINGAPORE

SINGAPORE

VALPARAISO

DUBAI

ROTTERDAM

SHANGHAI

NEW YORK CITY

PRESS ROTTERDAM

PRESSE DUBAI

PRESS VALPARAISO

Ghost tour


Interactive location-based art installation | 2006 | Savannah, USA

Countless ghost tours invite visitors to explore historic Savannah. Originally the old cotton warehouse, site of the installation, was not included in those tours. Here too, unnoticed until then, the wooden floors, walls and ceilings are populated wtih a wide array of ghosts. Visitors are invited to use the maps provided in the visitors center to explore the building, it´s inhabitants and learn about their habitats and habits. And ordinary place is transformed into a place filled with life and stories.


CREATED | concept, construction, tours

LEARNED | approaching visitors and playing the role of tourguide

LOVED | The wonder in the eyes of the visitors, the belief of the locals .

GHOST TOUR

HABITAT

GHOSTS

GHOSTS

GHOSTS

GHOSTS

ZOO PLAN

Huggies


Sculpture | 2006 | Savannah, USA

An experiment in which a monolith emerges from the lightest of materials. It marks it´s place. To hear ist murmurings one has to disturb ist personal boundary.

A COLLABORATION WITH LUCAS CORRERA.


CREATED | Concept, construction

LEARNED | letting the material guide you

LOVED | the meditative built up of the sculpture.

MONOLITH

PRESENCE

MURMURING

Olympics 2008


 

Concept TV studio | 100m2 | 2007 | Beijing, China

2008 the olympic rings are – symbolically – settling down in Beijing. In this city ancient temples with their curved roofs sit side by side with modern skyscrapers. The heat-formed arches of the studio reference this design language as well as the dynamics, power and elegance of the athlets. The studio area allows for varied atmospharic projections and live screenings. The studio furniture mirrors the chinese rice terraces  and  provides serveral settings fort he cameras and seating for a variety of guests – from a single athlet to a whole team. So called Satellites serves as background on the different competition locations.


A collaboration with Inga Tappmeier.


CREATED| concept, model, storyboard

LEARNED| to find the 2D in 3D, because a tv studio has spezial needs.

LOVED| the analog work on the model and the specifieing of the camera settings.

STUDIO

INTRO HOST

INTERVIEW

HAND OFF

ZOOM ON GUESTS

AUDIENCE

TRACKING SHOT

ZOOM ON HOST

SATELLITE

Coral Garden


Site-based art installation | 15m2 | Savannah, USA

Exposed conduits in an old cotton warehouse provide an ideal foundation for the colorful organisms, which enliven the sparse environment and built an artifical reef. In time a rich habitat developes along the structures which attracts not only people but also animals.


CREATED |  concept, construction

LEARNED |  bringing everyday objects to life

LOVED | The plants were followed by animals. Just like in the underwater reefs, mice and salamander used the structures for migration paths and as a food source.

SITE

ARTIFICIAL REEF

CORAL GARDEN

CORALS

EDIBLE CORALS

CORALS

Boxed Inside


Das Meer wird an den Strand gespült.

Konzept Ausstellung | Kunstinstallation | 2008 | Weltweit

Boxed Inside handelt vom Inhalt. Ein Inhalt, der immer sichtbar ist und dennoch verborgen scheint. Seine Bedeutung ist bedingt durch den Kontext. Da ist zum einen der ideelle Inhalt. Er ist abstrakt und bestimmt die Essenz eines Gegenstandes oder Raumes. Der größte gefüllte Raum unseres Planeten ist der Ozean, dessen wandelbare Gestalt von je her die Menschen in seinen Bann zog. Doch seine Essenz bleibt uns verborgen.

Der physische Inhalt kann exakt definiert werden. Er wurde im modernen Handel standardisiert. Als Container eroberte er die Welt und veränderte sie wie keine andere Erfindung des 21. Jahrhunderts. Für die Bewohner der großen Hafenstädte sind sie ein alltägliches Bild.

Was ist in diesen unzähligen Containern?

Was passiert mit den Schiffen und ihrer Ladung, wenn sie hinter dem Horizont verschwinden?

Die Reise der Container endet niemals, an keinem Tag im Jahr. Es ist eine Reise quer über den Globus, durch die fremde Welt der gewaltigen Ozeane. Sie fordern ihren Tribut. Jedes Jahr über 10 000 Container. Bisweilen werden diese als Strandgut angespült und geben den Menschen ihren Inhalt preis. So auch die fünft einzigartigen Conainer von Boxed Inside. Sie tragen das Meer an die Strände der großen Hafenstädte.

Neugierige Strandläufer können ihren Inhalt erforschen und die Weite und Tiefen des Meeres, seine immer wieder kehrenden Wellen und gewaltigen Stürme zu entdecken.


GETAN| Konzept, Planung, Transport, Modellbau, Grafik, Webdesign, Kommunikation

GELERNT| Abstrakte Begriffe auf kleinem Raum erlebbar zu machen.

GELIEBT| Eine verborgene Welt sichtbar machen.

ISLAND

ISLAND

SINGAPUR

SINGAPUR

SINGAPUR

VALPARAISO

DUBAI

ROTTERDAM

SHANHGAI

NEW YORK CITY

PRESSE ROTTERDAM

PRESSE DUBAI

PRESSE VALPARAISO

Die Geister, die ich rief


Interaktive, ort-basierte Kunstinstallation | 2006 | Savannah, USA

In der Südstaatenstadt Savannah sollen so viele Geister umgehen wie sonst nirgends in den USA. Das alte Baumwolllagerhaus gehörte jedoch ursprünglich nicht zu den Orten, an denen sie auftraten. Doch auch hier findet man, bisher unbemerkt, viele verschiedene Arten von Geistern in Böden, Wänden und Decken. Besucher können mit Karten aus dem Besucherzentrum auf Erkundungstour gehen und die verschiedenen geisterhaften Bewohner und ihre Lebensräume kennenlernen. Ein ganz normaler Ort verwandelt sich in einen Raum voller Leben und Geschichten.


GETAN | Konzept, Bau, Touren

GELERNT | Besucher ansprechen und Reiseführer spielen

GELIEBT | Die Freude der Besucher beim Entdecken der Geister, der Glauben der Einheimischen

GHOST TOUR

HABITAT

GEISTER

GEISTER

GEISTER

GEISTER

ZOOPLAN

Huggies


 Skulptur | 2006 | Savannah, USA

Ein Experiment in dem aus leichtesten Material ein Monolith entsteht, der in sich ruht und eine eigene Präsenz im Raum hat. Um sein Flüstern zu hören, muss man ihm (zu) nahe kommen.

IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT LUCAS CORRERA


GETAN | Konzept, Bau

GELERNT | Das Material auf sich wirken zu lassen.

GELIEBT | Das meditative Auftürmen der Skulptur.

MONOLIT

PRÄSENZ

FLÜSTERN

DETAIL

Olympia 2008


Konzept TVStudio | 100m2 | 2007 | Peking, China

Die olympischen Ringe lassen sich 2008 – symbolisch – in Peking nieder. In dieser Stadt trifft moderne Architektur auf uralte Tempel mit ihren geschwungenen Dächern. Die wärmeverformten Bögen des Studios zitieren diese Formensprache sowie die Dynamik, Kraft und Eleganz der Athleten. Sie bieten Platz für unterschiedlichste atmosphärische Bespielungen und Live-Übertragungen. Die Studiomöblierung erinnert an die terrassenförmigen Landschaften Chinas und biete Platz für unterschiedliche Einstellungen und Studiogäste – von Einzelkämpfern bis zu ganzen Teams. An den Wettkampforten bilden so genannte Satelliten des Studios den Hintergrund für Live-Übertragungen.


In Zusammenarbeit mit Inga Tappmeier.


GETAN| Konzept, Modellbau, Storyboard

GELERNT| Die Gestaltung eines TVStudios folgt besonderen Regeln.

GELIEBT| das analoge Arbeiten und Festlegen der Kameraeinstellungen im Modell.

STUDIO

ANMODERATION

INTERVIEW

ÜBERGABE

ZOOM AUF GÄSTE

PUBLIKUM

KAMERAFAHRT

ZOOM AUF MODERATOR

SATELLIT

Korallengarten


Ort-basierte Kunstinstallation | 15m2 | Savannah, USA

Freiliegende Versorgungsleitungen eines alten Baumwoll-Lagerhauses bilden ein ideales Grundgerüst für die farbenfrohen Organismen eines künstlichen Riffs, das die karge Umgebung mit Leben füllen soll. Mit der Zeit entsteht entlang der Strukturen ein artenreicher Lebensraum, der Menschen und sogar Tiere anlockt.


GETAN | Konzept, Bau

GELERNT |  aus Alltäglichen Neues entstehen zu lassen

GELIEBT | Nach den Pflanzen kamen die Tiere. Wie Fische im Meer das Riff, nutzen Mäuse und Eidechsen die Korallen als Wegesystem und Nahrungsquelle.

ORT

KÜNSTLICHES RIFF

KORALLENGARTEN

KORALLEN

ESSBARE KORALLEN

KORALLEN